LIM2022 Selection

In 2022, LIM | Less is More shifts into a new gear


LIM | Less is More, the training and coaching programme for feature film development driven by Le Groupe Ouest and powered by Creative Europe (MEDIA) opens a new chapter of its adventures. A few months ago, LIM team decided to rename its core motto: for committed filmmakers in a changing world. For LIM’s artistic director, Antoine Le Bos, “with the dark context we are going through in Europe, we need to fight like hell to generate films that can help us wake up!”.

In this perspective, LIM team has been shaping a new quartet of tutors/script consultants. The seventeen filmmakers and twelve Development angels selected in 2022 will work with Tony Grisoni (UK & Italy), screenwriter of Terry Gilliam and Michael Winterbottom among others, Lucile Hadzihalilovic (France), writer-director of Innocence and Evolution, and collaborator of Gaspar Noé for most of his films, Vinca Wiedemann (Denmark), script-advisor and close collaborator of Lars von Trier on Nymphomaniac and Melancholia, as well as of Thomas Vinterberg on The Hunt, and last but not least Romain Compingt (France), screenwriter of Golden Camera Divines as well as the moving En attendant Bojangles.

This outstanding team of European brains will have to find the right point of fusion with a very unique and human selection of talents and projects that can embody our struggle for meaning and awakening:
With the second features of Edon Rizvanolli (Kosovo) who created a strong impression with his Unwanted in 2017, Antoine Russbach (Switzerland) with the second part of his shouting trilogy started with the multi-awarded Those who work, Reinis Kalvins (Latvia) who delivered with The Shift a unique Noir experience so close to the Russian border. We also have Vincent Maël Cardona who left a strong impression at the 2021 Cannes’ Quinzaine des réalisateurs with Les Magnétiques – César for Best First Film last week – and now comes back to his roots with a story based in rural Brittany, as well as the third feature of Christian Volckman – we cannot forget the unique film experiences generated by Renaissance and The Room. And the first features of filmmakers coming from an outstanding background in short film, theatre, documentary or visual arts: Jela Hasler (Switzerland), Fanny Ovesen (Norway & Sweden), Andreea Valean (Romania), Valeria Testagrossa & Giulia Pietrozini (Italy), and Deborah Viegas (Brazil & Portugal). Coming from the troubled context of today’s middle east, Nitzan Rozen (Israel) and Dahlia Nemlich (Lebanon) will keep us awake until very late, like Sandro Souladze, young and talented Georgian filmmaker, so close to a burning border also. Like often in LIM, a strong and singular presence from Wales and Scotland, with Zillah Bowes and Isaac Knights-Washbourn with their first features also. And from Flanders, Belgium, the daring Meltze Van Collie, taking us to Greenland, for a bit of fresh air that we definitely need!

Following the whole process of development, the Development angels just selected by LIM for 2022 generate a unique scope of European professionals dedicated to helping deliver/nurture strong screenplays for tomorrow’s independent cinema: Cecilie Aspenes (Norway), Andrés Bartos (Catalonia, Spain), Diana Caravia (Romania), Viktorija Cook (Lithuania), Mirna Everhard (The Netherlands & Flanders, Belgium), Harry Flöter (Germany), James Heath (Scotland, UK), Judith Lichtneckert (Switzerland), Jules Reinartz (France), as well as Mira Staleva (Bulgaria), and Raymond van der Kaaij (The Netherlands).

Last but not least, in the tragic context of Putin’s invasion, LIM team is honored to welcome among this year’s Development angels, Aleksandra Zakharchenko, from Ukraine.


A selection composed by Massimiliano Nardulli – LIM Head of Talents, together with Ciarán Charles (Ireland), Gaia Meucci-Astley (UK), Héloïse Noé (France), Alki Politi (Greece) and Michal Reich (Czech Republic).


LIM | Less is More is supported by Creative Europe – MEDIA Programme of the European Union, led by Le Groupe Ouest (France), developed with Control N (Romania), Vlaams Audiovisueel Fonds – VAF (Belgium), and Krakow Festival Office – KBF (Poland), in partnership with the Lithuanian Film Centre, the Norwegian Film Institute, Région Bretagne (France), as well as Screen Scotland (UK) and Focal (Switzerland).

LIM2022 Selection

En 2022, LIM | Less is More accélère !


LIM | Less is More, le programme européen d’accompagnement pour le développement de long-métrages créé par le Groupe Ouest et propulsé par Europe Créative (MEDIA) ouvre un nouveau chapitre. Il y a quelques mois, l’équipe de LIM a décidé de faire évoluer son slogan qui devenait : pour cinéastes engagés dans un monde en mutation. Pour Antoine Le Bos, directeur artistique de LIM, « avec le contexte sombre que nous traversons en Europe, nous devons nous battre contre vents et marrées pour générer des films qui contribuent à nous réveiller, à nous donner des forces pour affronter le monde qui vient ! »

Dans cette perspective, l’équipe de LIM s’est entouré d’un nouveau quatuor de tuteurs / script consultants. Les dix-sept scénaristes et auteurs-réalisateurs, et douze Development angels sélectionnés en 2022 travailleront main dans la main avec Tony Grisoni (UK/IT), scénariste de Terry Gilliam et Michael Winterbottom – entre autres, Lucile Hadzihalilovic (FR), auteure-réalisatrice d’Innocence et Évolution, et collaboratrice de Gaspar Noé sur nombre de ses films, Vinca Wiedemann (DK), scénariste et proche collaboratrice de Lars von Trier sur Nymphomaniac et Melancholia, ainsi que de Thomas Vinterberg sur La Chasse, et enfin Romain Compingt (FR), scénariste de la Caméra d’or Divines ainsi que de l’émouvant En attendant Bojangles.

Cette équipe européenne de spécialistes chevronnés du récit accompagnera une sélection – unique et humainement riche – de talents et de projets qui incarnent le cinéma que nous souhaitons voir émerger sur nos écrans, porteur de sens et pour un éveil des consciences :
Avec le second long-métrage d’Edon Rizvanolli (Kosovo) qui a créé une forte impression avec Unwanted en 2017, Antoine Russbach (Suisse) avec la deuxième partie de son cri sous forme de trilogie commencé avec le multi-primé Ceux qui travaillent, Reinis Kalvins (Lettonie) qui a livré avec The Shift une expérience noire unique à quelques encablures de la frontière russe. Vincent Maël Cardona également qui a laissé une forte impression lors de la Quinzaine des réalisateurs – Cannes 2021 avec Les Magnétiques, tout récemment récompensé du César 2022 du Meilleur premier film et qui revient à ses racines avec une histoire basée en Bretagne rurale, ainsi que le troisième long-métrage de Christian Volckman – nous ne pouvons pas oublier les expériences cinématographiques uniques générées par Renaissance et The Room. Et les premiers long-métrages de cinéastes déjà reconnus pour leurs court-métrages magistraux, ou encore pour leur travail remarquable dans le théâtre, le documentaire ou les arts visuels : Jela Hasler (Suisse), Fanny Ovesen (Norvège & Suède), Andreea Valean (Roumanie), Valeria Testagrossa & Giulia Pietrozini (Italie), et Deborah Viegas (Brésil et Portugal). Depuis le contexte troublé du Moyen-Orient nous viennent les récits de Nitzan Rozen (Israël) et Dahlia Nemlich (Liban). Elles nous tiendront éveillés jusqu’à très tard – tout comme Sandro Souladze, jeune et talentueux cinéaste géorgien, si proche d’une frontière aujourd’hui également en feu. Comme souvent dans LIM, une présence forte et singulière celte, du Pays de Galles et d’Écosse, avec Zillah Bowes et Isaac Knights-Washbourn avec leurs premiers longs. Et de Flandre, en Belgique, l’audacieuse Meltze Van Collie, qui nous emmène au Groenland, provoquant un bol d’air frais qui nous fera du bien !

Travaillant au bord à bord avec les tuteurs et les auteurs durant tout le processus de développement, les Development angels sélectionnés pour LIM2022 forment un éventail unique de professionnels européens. Ils et elles joueront un rôle essentiel pour venir nourrir et aider au développement de scénarios forts pour le cinéma indépendant de demain : Cecilie Aspenes (Norvège), Andrés Bartos (Catalogne, Espagne), Diana Caravia (Roumanie), Viktorija Cook (Lituanie), Mirna Everhard (Pays-Bas & Flandre, Belgique), Harry Flöter (Allemagne), James Heath (Écosse, Royaume-Uni), Judith Lichtneckert (Suisse), Jules Reinartz (France), ainsi que Mira Staleva (Bulgarie), et Raymond van der Kaaij (Pays-Bas).

Enfin, dans le contexte tragique de l’invasion par Poutine de l’Ukraine, l’équipe de LIM est honorée d’accueillir parmi les Development angels de 2022 une ukrainienne : Aleksandra Zakharchenko.


Une sélection composée par Massimiliano Nardulli – LIM Head of Talents, avec Ciarán Charles (Irlande), Gaia Meucci-Astley (Royaume-Uni), Héloïse Noé (France), Alki Politi (Grèce) et Michal Reich (République Tchèque).


Soutenu par Europe Créative (programme MEDIA de l’Union européenne), LIM | Less is More est porté par le Groupe Ouest, développé avec Control N (Roumanie), le Vlaams Audiovisueel Fonds – VAF (Belgique) et le Krakow Festival Office – kbf (Pologne), en partenariat avec le Lithuanian Film Centre – LKC, le Norwegian Film Institute – NFI, la Région Bretagne, ainsi que Screen Scotland et FOCAL (Suisse).