The feature film by Argentinian Pablo Agüero is selected at the San Sebastian Film Festival, from September 18 to 26, 2020

“Akelarre” by Pablo Agüero (Salamandra, Eva Doesn’t Sleep), co-written with Katell Guillou, will have its world premiere in the Basque Country, as part of the 68th edition of the San Sebastian International Festival.

This film is inspired by an authentic witchcraft affair that took place in the 17th century. The feature film of the Argentinian director is a Spanish-French-Argentinean co-production between Sorgin Films and Tita Productions / Tita B, shot in the Basque Country. It will be distributed in France by Sophie Dulac Distribution.

“Akelarre” was developed as part of the 2012 Annual Selection & the 2013 Cross Channel Film Lab, and was selected for the 2015 Talents of LA SÉLECTION, an annual event co-created by Le Groupe Ouest & the Gan Foundation for Cinema.

PITCH
Basque Country, 1609. The men of the region are at sea. Ana, 17, takes part for the first time in a party in the woods, at night, with others village girls. At dawn, they are arrested. Judge Rosteguy given the task of purifying the region by the King, arrests the women and accuses them of witchcraft. Sure, that he has found his greatest affair here, he decides to do what it takes to make them confess what they know about the Akelarre, a ceremony with magical connotations during which the Devil is said to initiate his servants and mate with them. Savage and cunning, Ana will at first resist the judge before gradually getting into his game…

Le long-métrage de l’argentin Pablo Agüero est sélectionné au Festival de San Sebastian prévue du 18 au 26 septembre 2020

« Akelarre » de Pablo Agüero (Salamandra, Eva ne dort pas), coécrit avec Katell Guillou, fera son avant-première mondiale au Pays Basque, dans le cadre de la 68 édition du festival international de San Sebastian.

Ce film s’inspire d’une affaire de sorcellerie authentique qui s’est déroulée au XVII siècle. Le long-métrage de l’argentin est une coproduction hispano-franco-argentine entre Sorgin Films et Tita Productions / Tita B tournée au Pays Basque. Il sera distribué en France par Sophie Dulac Distribution.

« Akelarre »  a été développé dans le cadre de la Sélection Annuelle 2012 & du Cross Channel Film Lab 2013, et a été sélectionné pour les Talents 2015 de LA SÉLECTION, évènement annuel co-créé par le Groupe Ouest & la Fondation Gan pour le Cinéma.

PITCH
Pays Basque, à la frontière entre la France et l’Espagne, 1609. Les hommes de la région sont partis en mer. Ana, 17 ans, participe pour la première fois à une fête dans les bois, la nuit, avec d’autres filles du village. A l’aube, elles sont arrêtées. Le juge Rosteguy de Lancre, missionné par le Roi pour « purifier » la région, les accuse de sorcellerie. Certain d’avoir trouvé là sa plus belle affaire, il décide de tout entreprendre pour leur faire avouer ce qu’elles savent sur le Sabbat, cette cérémonie magique au cours de laquelle le Diable est censé adouber ses servantes et s’accoupler avec elles. Farouche et rusée, Ana commence par résister au juge avant d’entrer peu à peu dans son jeu…